In the Spotlight

News & Features

The MPR Capitol Team

Mike Mulcahy Mike Mulcahy, editor
Mike Mulcahy is MPR's Senior Political Editor and Newscast Editor. He has extensive experience covering politics for MPR and for public television. A Minnesota native, Mulcahy covered his first legislative session for MPR in 1989. He was political correspondent for Public TV's "Almanac" and "Newsnight Minnesota" from late 1995 to 1998 and returned to MPR as an editor in 1998. He is a graduate of Macalester College in St. Paul.

Bill Wareham Bill Wareham, editor
Bill Wareham joined Minnesota Public Radio in 1982, providing technical and editorial assistance to a variety of MPR programs. He became a reporter in 1988 and a member of MPR's legislative and political reporting team in 1992. He reported on state politics for the Associated Press from 1997 until he returned to Minnesota Public Radio in March 1999. He is a graduate of St. Olaf College in Northfield.

Laura McCallum Laura McCallum, Capitol Bureau Chief
Laura McCallum joined MPR in 1993 as a news anchor and reporter for MPR stations in central Minnesota, and was later promoted to bureau chief. Her 11 years in public radio also include working as news director for KDSU-FM in Fargo, North Dakota, and a reporter-anchor for Prairie Public Radio in Bismarck, North Dakota. McCallum has received numerous reporting and writing awards, including the American Bar Association's Silver Gavel Award for her work covering Minnesota's tobacco trial in 1998. McCallum, a North Dakota native, graduated summa cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa from the University of North Dakota.

Michael Khoo Micheal Khoo, reporter
Michael Khoo has been with Minnesota Public Radio since 1998. He joined the Capitol Bureau after covering the St. Paul stadium debate during the summer of '99. Before locating in the Twin Cities, Khoo worked as a research associate at the University of Chicago's Center for Program Evaluation. He holds an economics degree from the University of Chicago and a journalism degree from Columbia University.